Recent Grads Win NSF Fellowship and Honorable Mentions (2006)

The National Science Foundation awarded a 2006 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship to astrophysics alumna Lissa Ong ’04, who is now studying toward a Ph.D. in earth and planetary sciences at the University of California at Santa Cruz. Physics alums Laura Effinger-Dean ’06, Christopher Holmes ’03, and Sarah Iams ’04 all received honorable mentions.

Including all majors, a total of 4 recent Williams graduates won NSF fellowships this year and 16 more received honorable mentions. The previous year 9 recent grads won fellowships and 12 received honorable mentions, exceptionally large numbers for a college our size.

The NSF is a highly competitive national fellowship that covers the cost of three years of graduate study at virtually any university in the United States.