Ben Augenbraun '15 wins Apker Award



The American Physical Society selected Ben Augenbraun ’15 as winner of the 2015 LeRoy Apker Award. This national award is the highest honor for physics research by an undergraduate student in the United States. Only two winners are chosen each year.

Ben worked with Prof. Tiku Majumder at Williams and wrote a thesis titled “Scalar Polarizability of Indium 6P1/2 State: Atomic Beam Stark Shift Measurements Using Two-Step Laser Spectroscopy.”  He is continuing his physics education as a graduate student at Harvard University.

Ben joins Williams alumni Brian Gerke ’99, Charlie Doret ’02, Nathan Hodas ’04, and Chris Chudzicki ’10, all of whom won the Apker Award in previous years.  More Williams alumni have won the Apker Award than graduates from any other primarily undergraduate college.

APS Apker web page

Majumder’s web page