Adam Dionne '22 receives 2022 Apker Award from the American Physical Society

Adam Dionne '22

Adam Dionne ’22 has won the American Physical Society’s 2022 LeRoy Apker Award, the highest honor for undergraduate physics research in the United States. Only two winners are chosen each year, one each to students from PhD-granting and non-PhD-granting institutions. Congratulations, Adam!

Adam worked with Professors Henrik Ronellenfitsch and Kate Jensen on a combined theoretical and experimental thesis entitled “Self-organizing Slime: Physarum polycephalum’s Fluid Transport Network.” He is now continuing to pursue research in biological physics as a Ph.D. student in Applied Physics at Harvard University. More information about Adam’s current research at Harvard can be found here.

Adam is the sixth Williams Physics student to win the Apker Award, joining alumni Ben Augenbraun ’15, Chris Chudzicki ’10, Nathan Hodas ’04, Charlie Doret ’02, and Brian Gerke ’99. More Williams students have won the Apker Award than graduates from any other primarily undergraduate college.